Darkness is my Friend

Darkness is my friend.
It wraps around my body in a tight embrace.
Gripping my arms and forcing me to breathe breath after breath.
When I thought I could stand on my two feet again, the wave of grief grasps onto my ankles.
Oh it hurts. It hurts all over again.
Losing love is like the sky, except the grey clouds block all the rays of light I desperately needed.
Rain can wash away mud and cleanse me off the burden of my suffering,
But rain, the same rain we stood under, laughing until our chests burned,
Will always remind me of you. Days where nothing can kill my joy.
Why did you go? Why did you leave me all alone?
We made eternal commitments and promises and vows.
Each rise of sun is an emblem of another day where I must live without you by my side.
If I could block my sight, block all sounds and block all scents, staying awake until the day ends would kill me slower.
But I cannot do that.
The water is shallow, but I cannot stand.
The water is dark, and darkness is my friend.
I am drowning in my own heartache, finally succumbing to the anguish that engulfs my body whole.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close